Kelli

KELLI framed png

Kelli – 4″x 4″oil painting by Victoria Kloch

Kelli is the daughter of my sister Marta Lisa. She is a gentle soul bringing an air of calm wherever is goes. As I write my thoughts about my niece I am sitting here with a smile thinking about her endearing ways of soft spoken nature yet quick to tease with her sassy wit.  A little story comes to mind when she was very young and I doubt that she would even remembers this. Kelli was born with a lot of hair and when she was a toddler it was fine and wispy. So Marta and I decided to give her a home perm. Who knows why she was adorable as she was, and I know what you are thinking, a perm on a 3 year old? Well back then it was sort of normal, but no one would do that today. It was no easy task working with rolling her fine locks on tiny rods and most little ones would get antsy and start kicking and screaming. Not sweet little Kelli. She fell asleep while Marta held her head up in her hands until we were done.

The orangey palette used reminded me of a 50-50 ice cream bar.  Refreshing on the outside and smooth and soothing on the inside. That’s my Kelli girl.

About this collection

This is one of many small oil paintings in my series titled ‘Women’. They each represent family, friends and other women who bring inspiration in our daily lives. This project started out as a study for future color palettes for my larger paintings and emerged as little gems. At first when it came time to name each piece, I realized that each had their own personalities and reminded me of individuals that have touched my life in some way.

Well, what do you think?

