Betty

'Betty' 4" x 4" oil painting by Victoria Kloch

‘Betty’ 4″ x 4″ oil painting by Victoria Kloch

I’m grabbing my box of Kleenex. Betty is my Mother. There is so much I could say here about her, but I’ll steer this in the direction of art.  My mom encouraged me from a very early age with all kinds of art projects. I was like a sponge when it came to doing anything crafty and she knew it. Bam, I finished that project, ok, she would have another one lined up.  How can you thank someone who not only sees that you’re feed, clothed and have a roof over your head, but gives you the opportunity to explore your inner nature? When I graduated from high school I earned a scholarship for the San Francisco Art Institute. My mother sat me down and told me that she would pay the balance if I wanted to go.  Needless to say, I was too young to realize just how important it would have been to take her up on that offer. Regretfully it was my shyness that kept me from pursuing in that direction in a college where Richard Diebenkorn had been a student as well as a teacher. My mother loved original art. She had at least 2 paintings of originals in each room including mine. Mom I am so grateful to what you have given to me.

Now, about this painting titled ‘Betty’. I choose a rich color palette and the dab of deep coral that reminds me that Mom never ever left the house without making sure she had on her lipstick.  Mom, I miss you more than life itself. Thank you.

About this Collection 

This is one of many small oil paintings in my series titled ‘Women’. They each represent family, friends and other women who bring inspiration in our daily lives. This project started out as a study for future color palettes for my larger paintings and emerged as little gems. At first when it came time to name each piece, I realized that each had their own personalities and reminded me of individuals that have touched my life in some way.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Betty

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read this. Until starting this project all were taken for granted in daily living. I really gave me prospective on the past as well as the present.

      I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

      • These are delightful and I am sure to create such energy and beauty you did not take your subjects for granted! You have the same Victoria!

Well, what do you think?

